Gallery

Today was a good day

Just waking up in the mornin’ gotta thank God. I don’t know, but today seems kinda odd; the forecast tells of 70-degree weather – the 3rd straight day of such a treasure. The entire winter has been mild in its own right, but I must say, it was rather nice to not see a drop of rain in sight. Finally got a chance to dust of the barbeque, do some grillin’ in the afternoon. Got an idea in my head for grilled Brussels sprouts and yams, and damn today was a good day…

That’s right…

Pardon my lack of rapping skills, but days like the one I had last week can make you want to dance – and even rap.

If an afternoon of basking in the sun weren’t enough of a gift, after I finished eating and cleaning up after myself, I received an email notifying me that my application to do some freelance writing for The Examiner was accepted.

Hehe…

Funny that just a few days after blogging about hanging in there, that this opportunity comes across my plate. There are potentially a few other things on the horizon for me, but for now, I’m stoked to have my name attached to anything published, in print or on the Internet.

So the deets: I will be a “food and drink examiner” for Healdsburg/Sonoma County. I can report, review, and comment on local wineries, restaurants, chefs, winemakers, recipes, events and what not. The only difference is that instead of it being conversational like it is here with you guys, it is in the 3rd person. Basically I have to start taking away the me and the my and replacing it with he and she.

Bomb Brussels sprouts AND receiving good news from The Examiner – I gotta say it was a good day.

Grilled Brussels sprout and yam salad with crispy shallots and bacon

It would have been an easy of an answer to throw a steak or some chicken on the grill; I wanted to do something different, something delicious and unique. So I set off to the market to and pieced together this idea in my head, hoping that it would work once I got to cooking – and it did.

Ingredients:

1 lb. Brussels Sprouts

1 Yam

1 Shallot, thinly sliced

2 slices of bacon, chopped

1 teaspoon finely chopped rosemary

1 teaspoon white vinegar

2 tablespoon prepared Dijon-style mustard

1/4 Cup olive oil

4 drops hot sauce

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Cook bacon until crispy. Remove with slotted spoon and place on paper towel to soak up grease.

Toss shallots in flour and fry them in remaining bacon fat. Remove with slotted spoon and place on paper towel to soak up grease.

In a small bowl, whisk together the vinegar, mustard, oil and hot sauce until thoroughly combined. Add rosemary, salt and pepper and whisk. Set aside.

Cut yams into 4 pieces (wedges) rub with olive oil and season with salt. Place on grill, not directly on the flame. Cook 10-15 minutes; turning ever few minutes to get grill marks on each side. Trim stems from brussel sprouts and put in microwave safe bowl and microwave for 2 mins. Cut sprouts in half (or leave whole and skewer). Toss in bowl with olive oil, salt and pepper, and add to grill. Cook sprouts 3 minutes on each side, or just enough to get some grill marks on each side. Remove yam and sprouts from grill. Cut yam into bite size pieces and toss with sprouts and incorporate dressing and bacon. Garnish with crispy shallots.

Leave a Reply

