Gallery

Follies

When life gives you rice flour, make mochi.

Or at least that seemed like the logical thing to do…

I’m about to let you in on a secret; mochi is NOT as easy to make, as it seems. It’s not as simple as rolling out gooey dough and putting a dollop of ice cream in the center and forming it into a nice little ball. I somehow managed to form them into triangular shapes that barely held together. And if that weren’t enough, they were overly chewy and nothing what I wanted or expected. EPIC FAIL.

Sigh…

Is this thing on? My statistics are down from when I first started this thing – although the kimchi post sure brought a healthy following, including a comment from a complete stranger. And now I’m blogging about a failed experiment; not the greatest way to keep readership. Whoops! But don’t go anywhere. Please keep reading. I’ll get better at this thing, I promise!

I know you’re all looking to me to be an expert, to give you seamless recipes that taste delicious; but the truth is I am not professionally trained and I often make mistakes. Usually when something goes wrong I take it pretty hard. I’m a perfectionist and it pains me to see something not turn out as it should.

Follies aside, I’m giving myself a break this week.

I’ll give you the recipe. And I’m not sure how to improve it, to be quite honest. Try rolling out the dough thinner, I guess; but good luck with that – the dough is a pain.

I considered telling you in detail how I managed to butcher the creation of mochi, but I couldn’t bring myself to writing such a dreadful story of glutinous dough and melting ice cream.

Mochi

1 Cup Sweet Rice Flour

3/4 Cup Sugar

1 Cup Water

Combine the rice flour and the sugar in a bowl. Pour in the hot water and stir until there are no lumps, using a wooden spoon.

Microwave for 40 to 60 seconds on high; stir then microwave again. This may take 3 to 5 times depending on the microwave.

The dough is done when it is elastic and almost translucent, with a white opaque hue.

Sprinkle some rice flour on a sheet pan lined with a nonstick rubber mat, and place the mochi on the flour. cover it with plastic wrap and let it cool in the refrigerator or at room temperature.

Once it is cool stretch the dough by hand or using a rolling pin. Keep it covered with plastic wrap.

Cut mochi dough into rounds. Place a frozen ice cream ball in the center of a mochi dough round, then wrap ice cream with dough and seal bottom.

One response to “Follies

  1. Pingback: Creamy pâté | The Amused Bouche

Leave a Reply

